Max Factor Law
How Soon Should I File A Storm Damage Claim?
Updated: Aug 18, 2022
After your home has been damaged the last thing on your mind may be filing a claim with your homeowner insurance company. This works for your benefit and ensures you have time to find your family a safe space in the event your home is damaged to the point it becomes uninhabitable. After you've had time to get to safety and assess the damage you can start the process of filing a claim. In Florida, you have up to 2 years from the date of the incident to file an initial property damage claim.
Once you file a property damage insurance claim, your insurance company has 14 days to acknowledge the receipt of the claim. Most homeowners will file a claim as soon as they are able to in order to start repairs on their damaged homes. However, it is important to know that you may also file a supplemental claim up to 3 years after the date of loss. This is beneficial in the event that you have damage that doesn't show up after the initial claim is filed, such as mold. Confirm with your homeowners insurance provider any requirements and deadlines you may face in order to file supplemental claims.
If you have filed an insurance claim within 2 years of property damage and are having issues with your property damage claim, it may be time to contact an attorney. A knowledgable insurance attorney may be able to help you with navigating your outstanding insurance claim to ensure you receive proper compensation from your insurance company.
Florida Property Damage Attorneys has been in practice for over 25 years in Tallahassee, Florida, but serves ALL of Florida. Insurance Law In Florida can be hard to understand for a layperson. We will review you claim at no cost and determine the next best steps for you. Contact our offices at 850-577-1699 or fill out the contact form on our websites home page here.