Is There A Time Limit For Filing An Insurance Claim After Storm Damage In Florida?
Updated: Aug 18, 2022
Florida Statute 627.70132 details time limits for filing property damage insurance claims in Florida. Homeowners in Florida have 2 years from the date of original loss to file a property damage claim with their insurance provider. Supplemental claims may be filed up to 3 years after the date of original loss. For Florida property damage insurance claims that result from catastrophic weather events such as hurricanes, tornados, windstorms, or severe rain the date of loss is the date the hurricane made landfall OR the date the significant weather-event was verified by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.
As with all significant weather-related property damage, your family's safety should be your first priority. Once your family has settled after the storm, you can start to gather evidence to submit for your Florida property damage insurance claim. Once your Florida property damage insurance claim is submitted your insurance provider will have 14 days to acknowledge receipt.
Florida property damage insurance claims sound simple enough on the surface, yet year after year, we see families suffer from lack of response from their insurance providers. If you've filed a storm damage insurance claim in Florida within the 2-year required time-frame and your claim has been stalled or denied, it may be time to consider contacting a Florida property damage insurance attorney.
Florida Property Damage Attorneys has been in practice for over 25 years and have helped countless homeowners in Florida navigate their storm damage property insurance claims. We will assess your case at no cost to you and provide you with insightful details on how to proceed on getting your claim processed and obtaining the money you may be owed by your insurance provider. Contact us today at 850-577-1699 to get started.